MuscleTech Phase8 Review

March 14, 2013 — 6 Comments
Protein Powder by:
MuscleTech
Price:
$49.97

Reviewed by:
Rating:
3
On March 14, 2013
Last modified:July 31, 2013

Summary:

62% protein by weight, blend of 6 protein sources (total of 26g of protein) along with 7 g of carbs that mixes well, tastes OK, smells good, chalky in texture and a bit messy. Too much carbs for my liking.

Originally I bought MuscleTech Phase8 whey protein thinking that it was a protein powder, similar to that of Optimum Nutrition’s Gold Standard 100% whey protein or Dymatize Elite.

Turns out, it’s not.

According to the “supplement facts”, it only contains a little over 60% protein per serving.

It also contains 7 grams of carbohydrates. Something that I wasn’t expecting because I ASSuMEd it was just a “regular” protein powder.

You know, the stuff that has a ~30 g serving size and a 24+ g of protein per serving with 1-3 g of carbs.

It was listed under the category “protein powder”, and all of the protein powder I had bought previously was the regular stuff I just described.

They say that it contains “only half the carbs and fat of the leading competitor”. I’m not sure who or what product they are referring to.

My mistake, and lesson learned: Read the label before buying Annoyed

It seems like it doesn’t fit into any category that I’m aware of. It contains too little carbohydrates to be classified as a meal replacement, post-workout powder or mass gainer. But it contains too much carbs to be a pure protein powder. Maybe there’s some new made-up category that popped up recently that I’m not aware of.

My plan was to take this later after I finish my existing tubs of protein, but since this stuff has more carbs than I expected (probably due to the maltodextrin, the 2nd ingredient listed after it’s protein blend), I’m going to drink MuscleTech Phase8 during my workout.

Anyway, I ended up purchasing 2 jugs of each flavor (strawberry, chocolate and vanilla) for a total of 6 jugs because of some buy 1 get 1 free deal. So now I have 27 lb of this MuscleTech Phase8 powder.

P3120037

What I thought was a little weird was that the weight of the protein was not the same for every flavor.

The strawberry is only 4.4 lb, vanilla is 4.5 lb, and milk chocolate is 4.6 lb.

I don’t know if this is the case with every manufacturer, but I thought it was odd.

Ingredients

According to the product description, it contains a protein blend which is listed as:

  • 1. Hydrolyzed Whey Protein Isolate
  • 2. Whey Protein Isolate
  • 3. Whey Protein Concentrate
  • 4. Milk Protein Concentrate
  • 5. Calcium Caseinate
  • 6. Micellar Casein

Interestingly, the order of the type of protein listed on their product profile is not the same as the order in which they’re listed in the “ingredients” label:

8347_PHASE8_2lb_CH_slv_USa20

I wish they would show the quantities or some percentage of each type of protein instead of simply listing it out in a bracket under “protein blend”.

I also want to point out something that caught my eye:

Processed in a facility that also processes wheat, egg, fish and shellfish.

I checked to see if my other protein powders had this, and it did not.

I would be interested to see this facility that processes wheat, egg, fish and shellfish…along with MuscleTech Phase8 powder. Maybe there’s a MuscleTech wheat, egg, fish and shellfish product out there?

Sustained Release Protein

The claim in their marketing is “8-Hour Sustained-Release Protein Absorption”.

P3140070

P3140071

I’m not sure how I can test this out for myself to see if it is true, but I would bet eating a steak and not chewing it thoroughly would provide me with a longer “Sustained-Release Protein Absorption” than an easily digestible protein powder that contains some “Digestive Enzyme Matrix” to help digest it.

Scoop & Serving Size

The scoop is much larger than I’m accustomed to seeing, but it makes sense because the serving size is much larger than average.

The serving size is a whopping 41 g, and it only contains 26 g of protein per serving. See the comparisons below (the MuscleTech scoop is on the right side).

P3140067

P3140068

Mixability

It’s a very fine powder, something similar to that of baby powder. Because of this, MuscleTech Phase8 mixes well, but is a bit messier than other protein powders that I’ve used. It goes everywhere; sticks to my hand and fingers, sticks to the scoop, on the table, on the container and even in the air.

I didn’t bother mixing it in with my coffee, because I did not want to make a big mess and didn’t want the additional carbs first thing in the morning.

Taste

All the flavors are very sweet, and have a slight chemically taste.

Vanilla tasted best, chocolate had an artificial taste to it, and strawberry tasted like strawberry flavored medicine.

Strawberry

    • Smells nice
    • White powder turns pink when you combine it with liquid
    • Taste a bit like medicine
    • Looks like Pepto Bismal

P3140038

P3140061

P3140065

Chocolate

P3140041

P3140053

P3140060

Vanilla

P3140044

P3140055

P3140060

Overall

Because of the buy-1-get-1-free deal for the 4.4 - 4.6 lb tubs (which is no longer available), I suppose 27 lb of MuscleTech Phase8 for $157.11 was alright, even though it only contains about ~62% protein (that’s 16.7 lb of protein) by weight.

That’s still $9.41 per pound of protein if my math is correct.

Would I buy at full price? Nah.

I think the next time I buy protein, I’m just going to go with something cheaper with less carbs, like a 25 lb cube of whey protein from CanadaProtein.

I think if they eliminated the maltodextrin (which seems to me like a cheap filler ingredient…not sure why it’s in there) this would be a better product. But there may be some people out there who want the extra 7 g of carbohydrates coming partially from maltodextrin per serving.

Personally, if I wanted extra carbs, I would just eat a piece of fruit, add an extra scoop of rice to my post-workout meal or something like that.

It does have pretty high ratings from other people though (currently a rating of 9.5/10 from 195 reviews). Although from reading some of the reviews, it looks like MuscleTech themselves sent out free tubs to bb.com members to evaluate.

Personally, I give it a 3 out of 5.

62% protein by weight, blend of 6 protein sources (total of 26g of protein) along with 7 g of carbs that mixes well, tastes OK, smells good, chalky in texture and a bit messy. Too much carbs for my liking.

John Phung

Posts Twitter Facebook Google+

Ever since I started taking strength training seriously, I was bitten by the Iron Bug. Then it burrowed under my skin and laid eggs in my heart. Now those eggs are hatching and I... the feeling is indescribable.




Quick Stats
Height: 5'4" on non-squat days
Weight: 200 lb 210 lb ~220 lb (FOREVER BULK BRAH)

Credentials


Programs
  • Texas Method: March 4, 2011 - April 28, 2013
  • Smolov Jr for Bench Press: June 4 - 22, 2012
  • Starting Strength: Nov 29, 2010 - March 4, 2011
  • Kevin Michael Shelton

    The CanadaProtien product also lists in it’s nutritional profile under allergy statement that it too is produced in a facility that processes eggs, peanuts, seafood etc. Good post though. I read the CP review you did and have decided to go that route. Thanks!

  • brad

    You reviewed phase 8 calling it a whey protein and reviewed it as such. Its supposed to be a slow release protein so it would fit in the casein category. It is not a whey product.

    • I reviewed it as a protein powder even though “whey” was in the title. 3 out of 6 of it’s protein sources are from whey.

  • Adam

    I think the “leading competitor” would be a product such as Syntha-6. Which has considerably higher calories from extra fat and carbs. The “8 hours” of recovery would be from the casein, with the egg white protein taking up to 4 hours to digest to kind of cover the middle of the range digestion rate for releasing those aminos to the blood stream. Judging the cost at the buy 1 get 1 price in comparison to its primary competitor syntha-6 it looks solid.

  • math

    I try to stay away from proriety blends. Supplements company wants you to pay more for pricier ingredients that they put in very small dosage. Anyway, since it was cheap, it’s not that bad.

    • I agree with you Math! Price (actually there’s speculation it was a price error) was really the main factor that made me buy this.